STEMHigh School STEM Students Honored 2019

The 17th Annual STEM Recognition for Tillamook County high school senior girls was held January 27 at TBCC.  Women working in STEM professions presented a panel discussion on the theme “Perseverance”, expressing the ups and downs of their careers.  Annette Pampush (Tillamook Health Dept.), Angela Kruger (OSU Masters Student), Amanda Rose (Tillamook Regional Medical Center and Wendy Schink (GIS Cartographer) served on the panel.  Lisa Phipps facilitated the sharing by the students about their goals and educational plans to an audience of Parents, teachers and AAUW members.  Kris Lachenmeier and Michele Bradley co-chaired the committee and members provided refreshments. Those students honored were:
Tillamook High School: Celeste Stout (Science), Bre Maciel (Technology), Jennifer Arreloa (Math)
Neah-Kah-Nie High School: Grace Farris (Science), Maisie Siegel (Technology), Alexis Marshall (Math)
Nestucca High School: Dylan Myers (Science), Kirsten Wagner (Technology), Ashley Houck (Math)

STEMHigh School STEM Students Honored 2018

On Feb. 4th at TBCC, nine high school seniors were honored for their academic studies in STEM courses.  Organizers, Kris Lachenmeier and Heidi Luquette, welcomed the students, parents and members.  A panel of professional women spoke about their work and preparation in the STEM fields:  Liane Welch (Dir. of Development of Nestucca Ridge Development), Sue Cudd (Owner of Whiskey Creek Shellfish Hatchery), Marie Miller (Solutions Architect TCCA) and Amanda Knutson (Aerospace Engineer at Near Space Corporation).  Lisa Phipps facilitated a discussion amongst the students about their goals and future plans.  The students from Tillamook HIgh School were Clair Bradley, Kalista Paladeni, Cassie Diaz and Baelie Werner.  Chassidy Motsinger and Isis Breazile attend Neah-kah-nie High School.  Becca Menefee, Patricia Marshall and Carissa Albin are students from Nestucca High School.


Tillamook Branch of American Association of University Women (AAUW) hosted their 15th annual STEM recognition of high school senior girls on January 22nd at TBCC.  The high achieving students were nominated by their teachers in the areas of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) and honored at a reception with their parents.  Co-chairs Jean Schultz and Kris Lachenmeier introduced the following senior girls:  Alana Contreras, Quinn Wagner and Jordan Zweifel from Tillamook High School; Samantha Noregaard and Roan Childress from Neah-Kah-Nie High School; Tiarra Thompson and Morgan Kirkpatrick  from Nestucca High School.  Lisa Phipps facilitated a panel discussion with the girls sharing their future plans and interests in STEM.  Guest Speaker, Margaret Burnett, gave a motivational talk about her journey in a STEM career.  Margaret is a  Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at Oregon State University.  She began her career in industry, where she was the first woman software developer ever hired at Procter & Gamble.  A few degrees and start-ups later, she joined academia, with a research focus on people who are engaged in some form of software development.  She has been recognized as a distinguished scientist and lecturer for ACM (Association of Computer Machinery).
AAUW Honors STEM Students 2015
Tillamook AAUW honored seven young women from Tillamook and Nestucca School Districts on
Jan. 31st at TBCC for their academic achievement in Science, Technology and Math.  Not only
were they nominated for academics by their STEM teachers, but AAUW members learned about
their involvement in sports, music, student leadership, mentoring, dance, photography,
National Honor Society, service projects, 4-H, Community 101, school newspaper, writing
competitions and Charity Drive.
2015 Math Honorees:  Jessica Carlile (Tillamook), Courtney Ahn (Nestucca)
2015 Science Honorees: Kestrel Bailey (Tillamook), Sabrina Polman (Tillamook), Monica Chatelain (Nestucca)
2015 Technology Honorees: Maggie Mick (Nestucca), Ruby Rosas Garcia (Tillamook)  

The afternoon luncheon included motivational talks by Amy Tone who spoke about “Pathways to Your Future” and Dr. Emily Henry spoke about the research of women in STEM careers.  Lisa Phipps led the students in a panel discussion about their goals and future plans. Many of them thanked their parents, teachers and families for supporting their passion to learn.

2014 Science Honorees were Emma Cummings (THS), Dana Moore (NKN) and Monica Chatelain (NHS)

2014 Math Honorees were Brittany Main (THS), Natasha Mabe-Deroest (NKN) and Jackie Wilkinson (NHS).

2014 Technology Honorees were Maria Franco Salazar (THS), Katelyn Van Loo (NKN) and Jessica Ponce (NHS).